Will updating pro theme manually erase my past work?

Hi there,

I am running Pro, version 2.2.2. and planning to update it to the stable 3.1.2.

I will be running this on wordpress 5.5.1, with php 5.6.3.

I am planning to do a manual update via FTP connection, where I erase the current theme and manually install the zip file. The site will be backed up before the procedure.

I have worked very hard over many years to design my site just the way it is. 98% of work is with the Pro theme. I am concerned that when I do this upgrade, I will loose all of my work and I would have to start from scratch.

Can you please let me know that all of the design and data will be safely saved during this update? I’m sure it’s fine but I just wanted to double check.

Many many thanks,

Sincerley,

Christian

p.s. for reference, here is my past post.

Hi Christian,

Thanks for reaching out.
Updating the theme will not erase or affect your previous works. If you have made any changes to the parent theme files or code, that may be affected during the update. Still, I would recommend you take a backup before you update. So if anything wrong happens, you will be able to import those from your backup.

Thanks

Dear Tristup san,

Thank you very much for your quick response. It’s very assuring.

Many many thanks!

Christian

Hi Christian,

You are most welcome.

This topic was automatically closed 10 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.