Updating site breaks them (X classic)

Hi there, I have several older X sites that have been successfully updating the theme and Cornerstone without issues for several years. This month they will not update without breaking the site appearance on the frontend. It appears that Cornerstone tools stop working.

I’m running WP 5.8 on these sites and they are all using X classic. One example is https://snowicesalt.com/ but I have several that are having the same issue. I’ve always run simple updates through WP dashboard. I’m not a coder, just a designer so I’m hoping there is a simple fix. Can you help please?

I will send login information in a secure note.

Thanks!
Dawn Krueger
New Sky

Hello, @newskywebsites,

Thanks for writing to us.

I checked your site it seems that your site is working fine. It might be the issue of browser cache at your end. I would suggest you clear your browser cache and then check it again. If the issue still persists please let us know the exact page URL and marking screenshot.

Thanks

Correct, my site is working fine because I restored a back up. Once the theme and Cornerstone are updated, the site breaks. I can’t keep it broken waiting for tech support. Please try updating it to see how it breaks. This is a problem on all my X classic sites…

Thanks,
Dawn

Hello Dawn,

We would highly recommend that you create a staging site. The staging site is very useful because you can test drive any X updates in the staging area, do the customizations and troubleshooting without disrupting your live site. Once everything is perfect, you can easily and flawlessly proceed with the update on the live site. To know how to create a staging area, please check out these articles: