Hmmm not keen on this - blue dot reset

I do love a good beta and definitely like the idea of this in principle but this will be an absolute client nightmare

a single accidental click can wipe out settings or content, this could be bad enough with the developer doing this but if a client has cornerstone access, this will be a support call to ‘find the missing content’

At the very least there should be an ‘are you really really sure you want to delete this shit’ message

I would much prefer that the reset was a right click option, and then still ask if we are sure

2 Likes

Just to clarify my position, I really like the blue dot as a visual indicator. Being able to see immediately which settings have been changed or are actively in use is genuinely useful.

My concern is specifically with using that same indicator as an instant reset button.

The reset function is not obvious until you hover over it, and even then the cursor partly covers the information explaining what it does. To someone who does not already know the interface, particularly a client editing their own site, it could easily look like something they are meant to click for more information rather than a destructive action.

The potential cost of an accidental click also feels disproportionate to how frequently the reset function is likely to be needed. A user could remove a setting or content without realising what they have done, continue working, save the page, and only discover the problem later. That could create a difficult issue to diagnose, particularly if they cannot remember what was previously entered.

I appreciate that resetting may become more useful if elements eventually inherit a defined baseline style. Even then, I think the safest behaviour should be the default.

A few possible approaches might be:

  • Keep the blue dot as an indicator only, with reset available through a right-click or separate menu.
  • Show a clear confirmation before resetting.
  • Provide a preference such as “Identify only” or “Identify and reset”, defaulting to the safer identify-only option.
  • Allow an immediate undo after a reset, with a clear message explaining exactly what changed.

I am not against the reset function itself. I just think a potentially destructive action should be more deliberate and more clearly identified, especially in an interface that will also be used by less experienced clients.

3 Likes

+1 on this. The direct click rest is especially bothersome if the setting has breakpoint and/or more complex content, e.g. clamp statements. You just know that clients will click something inviting and if autosave is turned on, it may not be able to revert, even if they have their wits about them.

Great feature though! Just needs the safety net.

2 Likes

+1 also.

Agree that it’s a nice convenience… but not sure a “this has been changed from the default value” indicator is the right affordance for a reset action too. Especially in cases like in @scotbaston’s screenshot, where if you clicked the indicator to reset the field, you wouldn’t even be able to see that anything was reset (since you can’t see the content of the Edit Text field). Destructive action without visual confirmation is always a dangerous thing.

Maybe a middle ground is:

  1. Dial the animation down, as it’s not clear why it’s spinning (and it’s spinning the wrong direction). For instance, only have it appear and rotate counterclockwise a quarter turn so it’s minimal and restrained and gives a “hint” what will happen
  2. Add a tooltip when hovering over it “This value has been changed” or something (worded better than that)
  3. When clicking the arrow, pop a clearly worded “Reset value” pop-up that requires a second click to actually reset

image

1 Like

+1 also from us!

1 Like

I’ve shared some feedback earlier on the modified control indicator here. It covers some of the same concerns mentioned in this thread. What do my fellow beta testers think about the color suggestion?

I agree that generally this indicator is good to have (we literally asked for this feature and they delivered :smiley:) but that the undo action should be in a right click context menu or something like that, making the undo action a much more deliberate choice and helping prevent accidental undo’s.

CS currently doesn’t have any right click context menus in the Inspector so this would be new and perhaps also not that obvious?

1 Like

I do find the colour a bit in your face. draws the attention a bit too much.

not sure it even needs a colour

We’re deciding to add a preference to remove the feature. And are going to remove the animation on hover. And we can go from there if we need to adjust it more. Have a great weekend.

3 Likes

Hi @charlie
I’m on Beta 2 now and animation has gone but reset with no warning is still there

I like the idea of a preference to remove the reset, but can we please err on the side of caution and have the default to be ‘no reset’ and it needs to be enabled in preferences. and even then I definitely think it needs an ‘are you sure’ confirmation when you click reset

" * Feature - preference to disable modified controls reset" sorry I can’t find this?

Found it! BUT can we please have this default to no reset

Hi @charlie, great release as aways!

This is related to this topic, so I won’t open a new one:

image

The blue dot appears as son as a new variable is added, and also clicking it does nothing., once the value gets filled.

I’ve seen plenty of apps with a reset feature and there was never a confirmation box. The purpose is really more to be a quick way to see what has changed and reset any control that has been changed. I made sure CTRL+Z always worked properly getting you back to your original state.

I’ll fix the blue dot issue on the Global Variables. Thanks for sending this my way.

2 Likes

I am more worried about clients not understanding and not noticing
There is a saying

Make something foolproof, they’ll make a better fool.

I suspect this is going to cause web guys a bunch of grief

I’ll be honest… this has already saved me plenty of time. additionally, I have parameters set for what my client can/cannot edit. I don’t have any worry that they’ll click on reset because they don’t have access to it.

maybe offer the feature check box in Cornerstone > Settings, so it’s only available to Admins