Staging site test of new X version somehow updated the live site too

Hi - I saw in WordPress that X has a new version available. Then I logged out of the live site and cloned the site in SiteGround hosting’s staging tool. I updated X in the staging site to test it. Then I destroyed the staging site. Then I went back into the live site to do something else and I noticed that the live site had been updated to the latest X during the few minutes I was using the staging site. Nobody else was in the live or staging site except me. I didn’t want to update the X version of the live site yet as I have some additional tests to do in another staging copy first.

I contacted SiteGround tech support and they confirmed that their staging site tool doesn’t change anything at all on the live site unless I push the staging site live. Which I didn’t do.

Does updating X theme on a staging site somehow affect the license version status and the live site? If so, how can I test a major new version of X on a staging site without impacting the live site yet? -Thanks.

Hello @NexLAN,

Thanks for writing in!

The X theme and Cornerstone plugin abides the WordPress standards. All of the theme and plugin resources when updated stays in the same directory where it is located and installed. The theme and Cornerstone plugin does not alter any file permissions in a WordPress installation. As you noticed we have provided that you can assign one license to your live site and the staging site so that you can validate the staging and the live site independently. If your staging site’s themes and plugins resources shares the same directory then that could be the reason why the live site has been updated.

Hope this helps.

This topic was automatically closed 10 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.