Resetting WP prior to installing new site

Hi
I have a site I’m about to renew.
I may upload the new site from a local build or do a new build from scratch online.
I used Ethos demo content for the old site which I made 3 years ago. The new site also uses the same demo content. My question is, would you recommend I reset WP before I either install the new site online or uploaded from a local build?
And if so are there plugins you would recommend for resetting WP?

Thank you, Makoto

Hi Makoto,

Thanks for reaching out.

I’m not really sure about the reset you’re currently referring, but there is no need for that if you’re starting from scratch again (new install).

Then you can simply re-assign your new site’s URL to your license at your Themeco account’s dashboard. Then next will be validation of your new site.

Thanks!

Hi,

Thanks for your help.
To clarify, I’m doing a new install of the same site using X-Theme and the same demo content as before (same URL). Shouldn’t I delete my old site to avoid any conflicts? Best, Makoto.

Hi Makoto,

You don’t need to reset the old one, you can simply revoke it in your Admin > X or Pro > Validation at your old site, if you prefer it that way. You’ll only delete it if you’re installing it on the same domain and URL.

Thanks!

Yes, I am installing the new site on the same domain and URL. What is the safest way to delete the old site? Thanks so much.

Hello Makoto,

If you want to start fresh without caring the previous site, you can actually use WP Reset plugin. The plugin will do the deletion and will reinstall fresh WordPress site for you.

Hope this helps.

This topic was automatically closed 10 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.