License validation after DNS changes

Posting question and solution

A site I hosted and designed using Pro was transferred to a new host using DNS changes, but same domain - of course the new copy of the site was invalid.

  1. I reviewed the docs and went to my old host to revoke the license so I could re-apply but I could not reach the admin section of my old site.
  2. I had a 2-site license and went to https://theme.co/account/info to manage my license, but no link to revoke.
  3. I “unlocked” the license, copied same one in use to site copy admin panel - did not work.
  4. I applied my 2nd license to the site copy admin panel - did not work.

What worked…

  • I unlocked the existing licenses
  • I removed the domains from the existing licenses
  • I re-added the domain to the original license
  • I applied the original license to the copied site’s admin panel
  • it worked!

Hello @jmac

Thanks for writing to us.
Glad to that it is working fine for you.

You don’t need to revoke to license from an old site, and you don’t need to unlock the license either. Re-assigning the new URL to the license should be enough, then the validation should work.

These 3 is what made it works

  • I removed the domains from the existing licenses
  • I re-added the domain to the original license
  • I applied the original license to the copied site’s admin panel

Have a great day
Thanks

Right, so, it was same URL but new site host after DNS update, but docs made it a little confusing (for my brain).

The same license will work for the same domain after a copy of it is moved (and the original is no longer in use) but, you have to remove the domain from the license, save that change, and then, re-add same domain to it, save it - then it works.

Docs probably have roughly the same guidance, but, it did not read so clear in my mind.

Thanks!

Hello @jmac
Thanks for writing to us.
Yes, that’s the correct one. Please let us know if you have further issues or questions regarding validation.

Have a great day!
Thanks

This topic was automatically closed 10 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.