Hi @mateoserendipia,
You’re right in saying that your site is still validated. It doesn’t lose it unless you revoked it, as you’ve already pointed our in your first message.
But what @Jade was referring to was automatic updates of the plugins. That means, if X is not the active theme, when a newer version of the bundled plugins are available (e.g. a new version of The Grid, Essential Grid, Rev Slider), you will not be able to click (nor see) the update now link as shown below:

Since it’s important to keep our plugins updated, especially when security updates are available, you might want to be able do these updates at a click of a button.
One trick you can do is, when there’s an available update, you can simply just switch back to X and click the update now button while it is active. After updating, you can go back to your preferred theme.
It’s going to be tricky and time-consuming but it’s the way around it.