Front end format broken after migration

Hello,

We’ve moved from WPEngine to self-hosting at GCP. Once the migration was complete, everything was in order until today (I’m assuming our caches expired) and now the front-end is “broken”, as in no longer formatted or respecting the back-end customizations done in Pro. I’ve followed the steps provided this support article: https://theme.co/docs/site-appears-broken-after-updates, but to no result.

@jpoirierlavoie,

Thanks for reaching out.

Sometimes the site is broken due to caching issue, please disable your server cache and any plugin cache you have in your website installed. If none of that helps, please give us the following information in a Secure Note.

  • WordPress Login URL
  • Admin level username and password

You can find the Secure Note button at the bottom of your posts.

Thank you.

We’ve cleared out Cloudflare cache (then enabled developer mode), we then cleared our WP-Rocket cache (and then disabled the plugin). There’s a “Must-Use” plugin: advanced-cache.php but it is not active.

Out of the 6 websites on the multisite, only the 3 that use licensed Pro themes are broken. Adding their URLs in secure note.

This only occurs when we have the server on PHP7.3 or higher. PHP7.2 removes this issue.

Hi @jpoirierlavoie,

I check your website and found out that you are still using an older version of Pro Theme, your current version is 2.2.5 and the latest version of Pro is 3.2.3 and your current Pro Theme version has compatibility issue with the latest PHP version, so you have two options to decide.

First Option:
You will update your Pro Theme to 3.2.3 so that it will be compatible with PHP 7.3 or higher.

Second Option:
You will stick with your current Pro Theme version 2.2.5 but you will use 7.2 PHP version.

Hope that helps.

Thank you.

Hello,

Thank you, that explains a lot. I would have thought that the theme would have notified us that it was out of date. When attempting to check for updates it returns no warning.

I can’t install the new version 3.x since the pro directory exists (the 2.x version). How do I proceed with upgrading? Is it safe for me to delete the theme without losing all of our work and front-end customizations?

With an answer to that question, I’ll attempt to implement what you suggested.

Regards,

Jason

Hey Jason,

To update Pro or any of out products, you can review our update guide. If you choose the manual update process then please follow https://theme.co/docs/how-to-update#how-to-perform-a-manual-update

It is safe to delete the theme folder and upload the latest version (this is necessary in the manual update process), you will not lose your work/customization however it’s best if take a complete backup just in case if anything goes wrong.

Also make sure you only remove the parent theme directory and you’ve not modified the parent theme and used a child theme for customization.

Hope this helps!

This topic was automatically closed 10 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.