Creating Default Post Templates by Category?

Hi there!

I’m new to theme X and struggling a bit with wrapping my head around its file structure.
What I would like to do is filter by posts by category and apply a template. So, for example, say I have a page called Samples and on that page, I have a grid. And in that grid, I have a bunch of posts that are in the category Samples. Whenever I click on an individual block to open that post, I want any post in the category Samples to load using the post template Samples, and likewise for other posts in other categories to have other default templates. First, is this possible. Second, how? And third, will this appreciably slow loading times?

However, I must confess that at the moment, I can’t even get new post templates to show up under Post Attributes in WordPress. I am working with Renew and have the child theme installed. I tried putting some post templates in the x-child folder, but they don’t show up as options in WordPress…
They look like this:

<?php /* * Template Name: Samples * Template Post Type: post, page, product */ get_header(); ?>

Clearly I’m utterly lost - any help would be much appreciated! (and if you can, please explain to me like I’m a total idiot and tell me why your code works…)

Thanks,
Emi

Hi Emi.

Thanks for writing in.

You can create a query to filter the posts category that will be displayed on the page. Here is a reference link on how to do that:

https://codex.wordpress.org/Class_Reference/WP_Query#Category_Parameters

The loading time should not take too long but it also depends on the number of posts that is loaded on the page. If you have a lot of posts, you can add a pagination to the template.

As for the page templates, the files in X are organized per stack where there is the main template file in the root directory of the theme and it calls another template file that is specific to the stack that you are using.