Adding Blog Posts onto Static Homepage - How to use Shortcode? How to make featured image smaller?

As a beginner, I am finding this theme difficult to figure out. I want to resize the featured image on a blog post.
Initially, I had the front page of my website set to the default recent posts. I realized I cannot do anything with that page on cornerstone. I can’t even see it in the content section. So I added a new page (Home) and also a page (Blog). And I changed the front page to a static page (Home). I figured out how to make the Blog page show my latest posts, but I also want my Home page to have blog posts on it. How do I add blog posts to the homepage? I found the shortcode for Recent Posts, but I don’t even know how to use a shortcode. Also on the homepage, I don’t necessarily want to have my most recent posts, I would like to customize which posts are shown on the homepage. Feeling frustrated & lost here. Once I get the pages & posts all sorted, my next questions would be is there a way to make the featured image of a post smaller?

Hello Alicia,

Thanks for writing in!

Instead of using the recent post shortcode in your text element, remove the text element and directly use the recent posts element since you are building the homepage in Cornerstone.

Once you added it in your page, you will have an option to choose to display the number of items which is up to 4 posts items and then the availability to display it horizontally or vertically. At the moment, you are using a shortcode wrapped with a code shortcode which is also incorrect and it is displaying vertical which is why the featured images is bigger. If you display it in horizontal, you will have smaller featured images.

Hope this helps.

I think I made some progress, but still, if you click on one of my blog posts the featured image that appears at the top of the article is huge. I guess I don’t understand how to edit the design of the blog posts.

Hi Alicia,