When you log in to ClickUp, the interface is laid out like this:
Note that there may be some slight differences in the appearance dependent on your personal settings, but structurally, the board will be laid out in the same way.
There are 3 main sections:
- The Sidebar - This provides the highest level of navigation, and is where you will find the link to your project board.
- The Header - This area displays contextually appropriate tabs for the section you are navigating. When viewing your project board, this is where you will see the option to add a new task and view your tasks in a list or kanban board format.
- The Context Area - This is where core information is displayed for the content you have navigated to. When working with your project board, it is where you'll find all of your tasks.
Finding Your Project Board
In the ClickUp environment, your project board exists as a shared folder, that is accessible from the sidebar.
When you first log in, the Shared With Me section might be collapsed. Click the toggle to expand this and it will reveal your project board.
Within the folder, every block of hours purchased will appear as a separate task list. In the example above, you can see that there is a list called Elite 50 | Nov 25. This signifies that it is a block of 50 hours and it was purchased on Nov 25. The newest block of hours will always appear at the top. To view the tasks added to each plan, simply click on the list, and it will display the tasks in the Context Area to the right.
There's a few other things worth noting:
- If a task is not completed within one block of hours, it will be copied over to any subsequent hour block purchased. Time is tracked against every task, so this ensures that the time spent on the task is applied appropriately. Time tracked is not carried over to the duplicated task on the newer block of hours, but all notes and communication will be, so continuing with the task is seamless.
- Clicking on the folder itself will reveal all tasks added, irrespective of the block of hours that they apply to. So if you have purchased multiple blocks of hours, you can choose between viewing all tasks, by selecting the parent folder, or more likely, just the most recent tasks, by selecting the specific list within in the folder.
- You can collapse the sidebar at any time, by clicking on the double chevron icon in the top right hand corner of the sidebar, or by using the keyboard shortcut
Once you have opened your project board from the sidebar, you will have the following options that appear in the header:
- Add New Task - Clicking this will open a guided interface in the Context Area that enables you to add a new task or project to your project board. Learn how to use this here.
- List - This is the standard view and displays all your tasks vertically. By default, tasks are grouped by their current status (learn more about task statuses here).
- Board - If you select this, your tasks will be displayed horizontally in a kanban format and grouped by status.
- Credentials - This will appear from your project board folder only. It is a document where any login credentials can be shared with us in connection with your tasks or projects. Learn more about using this here.
The Context Area
Whatever you have selected from the Header area will be displayed here. Accessing the List view will show your tasks grouped by their current status, but all groups share the following columns:
- Date Created - This displays the date when the task was added to the board.
- Date Updated - This shows the date when any changes were last made to the task, including comments, updates or time tracking sessions. This gives you and us a pulse of when something was last worked on.
- Priority - Whenever you add a new task, you'll be asked to give it a priority in relation to your other tasks. This columns shows the priority set. There are 4 priorities: low, normal, high and urgent.
- Assignee - Any developers who we have assigned to work on your task will have their avatar appear here.
- Time Estimate - If you have requested an estimate prior to work commencing, when you added the task, it will be shown in this column. Otherwise, it will be left empty.
- Time Tracked - This columns displays the time spent on your task, tracked to the second. You will also see a summary of the time tracked beneath each status group. If you wish to see the total time tracked in your current block of hours, then click on the list name in the header eg. Elite 50 | Nov 25, then List Info from the dropdown list. You can see the total time tracked from the modal that appears on the right of the screen, like in the below screenshot.
If you prefer to view your tasks using the Board view, each task will appear as a card, with limited information displayed against each.
In either view, when you click on the title of any task, you will open a modal that displays more detailed task information, including all of the information provided when you added the task, and all task comments and updates.
Task communication is discussed in more detail here.
Now you should be familiar with how to find your project board, have an understanding of how tasks can be viewed and the information you'll be able to see at a glance. Now let's move on and discover how to add a new task.
See something inaccurate? Let us know